Monday, August 17, 2009

More charter commission members named

More members have been named to the Legislative charter commission created to look at the Concord School Board charter.
Rep. Rick Watrous, D-Concord, along with Rep. Bev Ferrante, R-Derry, have both been named as the Legislature's representation on the commission. Watrous just missed being elected to the school board back in 2007 and was elected to the Legislature in 2008. Ferrante is a member of the municipal committee that was debating issues relating to the school board charter in this legislative session.
State Senate President Sylvia Larsen, D-Concord, as expected, has named herself to the commission.
City Councilor Steve Shurtleff, who is also a state representative and a Democrat, has also been named to the panel by Mayor Jim Bouley.
This is an interesting choice. First, Shurtleff is an at-large city councilor and doesn't live in the Concord school district - he lives in the Merrimack Valley School District. He also had a bill before the Legislature, changing the way board members were to be elected, from at-large members to district members, based on the state rep. districts.
According to sources, the school district has not named its second board member and a PTO member has also not been named.
The commission will meet for the first time in September.

No comments: