Saturday, April 11, 2009

Astronomy Bowl 2009 winners announced

Participants in the 2009 Astronomy Bowl are pictured here at the McAuliffe-Shepard Discovery Center.
The McAuliffe-Shepard Discovery Center hosted New Hampshire's third annual "Astronomy Bowl" on Saturday March 28. Kritlapas Chanchaiworawit, of Brewster Academy in Wolfeboro, took first place with a scholarship of $1,000. Second place winner Samantha Ryan, from Lakes Region Christian Academy in Laconia, was awarded a $500 scholarship. In third place was Preston Morrissette, from Lakes Region Christian Academy in Laconia, who was awarded a $250 scholarship.

The Astronomy Bowl is a statewide competition for high school students to compete by answering questions about constellations, planets, stars, and other objects projected in the Discovery Center’s state-of-the-art planetarium. The top three Astronomy Bowl winners received silver commemorative “astronomy” bowls, presented by NASA astronaut Dr. Jay Buckey. The scholarship awards will be formally presented at Spacetacular Saturday on May 2, 2009, an annual event at the Discovery Center in celebration of Astronomy Day. The winners will also receive special recognition at the State House from Governor John Lynch and the members of the Executive Council.

The Astronomy Bowl was generously sponsored by All Metals Industries, Inc.; Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center; Rath, Young & Pignatelli, P.C.; Laconia Savings Bank; Eastpoint Stategies; Bianco Child & Family Therapy, LLC; and Lincoln Financial Group.

The new McAuliffe-Shepard Discovery Center is a lively science center, featuring 21st century interactive exhibits on aviation, astronomy, and Earth and space sciences, a state-of-the-art planetarium, and a variety of science and engineering programs. The engaging, robust educational programs are geared towards families, teens, seniors, students, community groups, and lifelong learners. For a full schedule of programming, visit

No comments: